Meditation Objects, Supplements, and Sequences (MOSS) Vol. II [RGMS-012]

Released January 17, 2022

Musings: Somewhere in between background noise and a symphony, in between the ocean and your open vein… an object, or new furniture of sorts – a supplement, which opens the room for the breeze to come in – a sequence, guiding you through new land. Straddling the four cardinal directions, earthly meditations, to dive deep into the waters of the unconscious, in search of the eternal flame, glowing like a scarlet lotus on the ocean’s floor, oh to breathe in the depths through consummated eucharist in harmony with the logos. Moss, the great mother, welcomes us unto it to soothe our wounds, then gently guide us back towards the path. Here we are, taking a moment to lay in its bed, amidst a journey which fractures into ten thousand directions, spiraling always towards the mandate of the heart. 

Meditation Objects, Supplements, and Sequences or MOSS, is a curated collaborative album from members of rgms consisting of tracks designed for meditation. This album was inspired in response to the seemingly rather monotonous tone of most meditation music found online today. Here, the aim is to explore a wide variety of states of being possible within the meditative posture. Herein, we have tracks, which lilt us in a gentle state of at onement, others which guide us through strange lands and circular quests, yet others still which take us to that part of ourselves we have not visited in a while, and while our initial urge may be to resist, the vibrations coax us to stay and have a look around for a little while, until we might find this once unfavorable place not at all too unbecoming.

MOSS #9: Subversion of Feedback (Aaron Stearns)
MOSS #10: Morning Walk (Chris Chraca)
MOSS #11: Säännös (Timo Pehkonen)
MOSS #12: A Cloudless Rain (Davis Connors)
MOSS #13: The Anchor Dragged Across the Sand (Noah Rosa
MOSS #14: A Blue Fire (Iminah Kani)
MOSS #15: Ousers (Dexter Dine)
MOSS #16: A Mercurial Liminality (Sean Kiley
MOSS #17: are we not on less, concrete shores? (James Layton)
MOSS #18: Dying Fly (Sampson Hollander)
MOSS #19: In the Backwoods on a Cool Summer Day (Natalie Dzbik)
MOSS #20: Streaming from a Hollow Top (Ben Kinsinger)

MOSS will be an ongoing series, which aims at exploring the breadth of meditative experiences possible within sonic environments. Volume I explored a more atomized realm produced by 8 members of rgms. This volume served as an opportunity for the artist to begin to articulate their own personal musical language of meditation. Here, with Volume II rgms strives towards developing a cohesive whole, in lieu of the individual ca. 10-12 minute experiences produced for Volume I. Volume II is a sonic journey from Human Sounds - anything man-made (machinery, bodily, cars, tools, breath, speaking ((non-communicative), etc.)) to Non-Human Sounds - anything in nature, which takes place without the influence of humans (ocean, river, birds, wind, trees, etc.) This journey then from Human Sounds to Non-Human Sounds takes place over the course of the whole album.